A Surprise – A Liebster Award!

Liebster

I must admit that I was quite surprised when I came online yesterday and opened my mail – only to discover that I had been nominated for a Liebster Award!

I never intended for this blog to be read by many people. There are so many talented writers and bloggers out there, this was only going to be my playground, a place for me to practise and keep writing, and somewhere to add my thoughts and musings. However, I cherish every like or positive comment I get and I’m thrilled that my writing, however imperfect it still is, can inspire fellow bloggers or at least cause someone to smile or give a nod in recognition.

Thank you Chris Musgrave for this nomination. I feel truly honoured that you thought my blog deserved this special mention. Thank you!

With this nomination comes a few obligations. First of all I’ll answer the questions asked by Chris Musgrave, and then I’ll add my own nominations in another post as this one is already getting very long!

Now onto the questions:

1. Do you have an evil laugh and how often do you use it?
I don’t think anyone has ever called my laugh evil. Maybe that’s something I need to work on!

2. Do you prefer Sci-fi or fantasy (sub-genres accepted)?
Fantasy all the way! Though, I must admit I’m liking sci-fi more and more. It’s two of my favourite genres in both books and movies.

3. Tell me something that you have done which you are particularly proud of.
I worked as a volunteer with children with special needs for a few years before I started uni, and some of the moments and achievements I experienced there are very special to me.

4. Have you ever devised an escape plan in the event your work/school is taken over by a hostile force?
Not exactly a detailed plan, but I’d be lying if I said I had never thought of it!

5. What is your favourite book/poem and why?
Oh dear, that’s tough! I have already mentioned a few books I really like in previous posts and could go on listing more till everyone’s tired of listening. However, I will stick to the question and just pick one! I read John Marsden’s ‘Tomorrow when the war began’ series a few years ago, and though it is mainly aimed for teenagers, it really spoke to me and managed to keep my attention glued to the pages and wanting more, even after I had finished the last book. As for why? I think there was something refreshing over it. The genre was new for me in many ways and at first I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the amazing character descriptions and the interesting plot lines kept my attention firmly.

6. If you could be anything, what would you be?
That’s hard. Whatever I become, I want to be good at it! Jobs and careers aside, it would be pretty awesome to be the one who found a cure for cancer.

7. Name one thing on your bucket list that you have yet to achieve/experience.
If I made one such list right now, I think most of it would be made up of places to travel to. One place in particular I’d love to visit is New Zealand.

8. What are your thoughts on censorship? Do you think it can ever be justified?
Another tough one. I’d say yes, there are cases where it can be justified to censor certain things, mostly when it comes to things shown to a young audience. The question is just who gets to choose what should be censored and where the lines goes.

9. Who is the one person who can always make you smile?
My fiancé.

10. Are you bored of all these questions yet?
Actually not. It has been pretty interesting!

Once again, thank you Chris Musgrave for your nomination! I’ll post my list of nominees tomorrow as well as my questions.

Leave a Reply

